McMillan Seeks Publics View on Assisted Suicide

Greenock based SNP MSP Stuart McMillan is seeking views from the public on assisted suicide.

With the Scottish Parliament due to debate the proposed Assisted Suicide (Scotland) Bill this year, Mr McMillan is keen to hear from as many Inverclyde residents as possible.

The call comes following a residents survey the MSP conducted at the end of last year in which over 1,600 responded. Of those who did respond 39% said they would support the introduction of the Bill, 40% said they were against, with the remaining 21% undecided.

Anyone who wishes to submit their views to Mr McMillan can do so by e-mail stuart.mcmillan.msp@scottish.parliament.uk or in writing to Stuart McMillan MSP, 4 Argyle Street, Greenock PA15 1XA.
 
Speaking from his Greenock office Mr McMillan said:

“Over the last few months I have been contacted by a number of people in Inverclyde regarding the proposed Assisted Suicide Bill. This follows the residents survey I conducted in November in which their was an almost equal split between those in favour and those against.

 

“With Parliament due to consider this again soon, I feel it is important to hear from as many people as possible in order that I can fully understand and represent the views of my constituents on what is a sensitive matter.

 

“Therefore, if anyone would like to contact me with their views please do not hesitate to contact my office. I will ensure these are added to the comments already received, allowing me to fully take into consideration the views of all my constituents before making my final decision on the bill.”

Leave a Reply

