MSP Confirms Plans to Stand Again

Stuart_chamber March 2012_1CroppedSNP MSP Stuart McMillan has today confirmed he is seeking re-selection to be the SNP candidate for Greenock & Inverclyde at next year’s Holyrood elections.

 The Greenock based MSP was the party’s candidate at the 2011 election when he received 42% of the vote, increasing this by 13.6% from the previous election.

 Speaking Mr McMillan said:

 “I can confirm I am seeking re-selection as the SNP candidate for next year’s Holyrood elections.

 “In addition to my duties as an MSP, I will be spending the summer speaking and listening to local party members, especially the 1,200 new members we have here in Inverclyde. I don’t just want to talk to them about my work as a MSP and explain why I wish to continue in that role beyond 2016, but I  also want to listen to their ideas for Inverclyde.

“This discussion obviously extends beyond the local party, and as always my office door is open to any resident who wishes to speak with me about their own ideas for the area.

 “The SNP is a fully democratic party, which is something I am very proud of, and regardless of whether you are Stuart McMillan or Nicola Sturgeon any politician wishing to stand for re-selection must seek and win the support of party members via a democratic process. Over the next few weeks the Greenock and Inverclyde SNP will be undertaking that process and I very much look forward to it.”

Leave a Reply

