McMillan raises rail issues with ScotRail CEO

Greenock and Inverclyde MSP, Stuart McMillan, has been highlighting Inverclyde’s rail network issues – meeting with the Transport Minister and a number of representatives from ScotRail on the matter, including its Chief Executive yesterday.

During yesterday’s drop-in session at the Scottish Parliament, which allowed MSPs to raise local issues directly with ScotRail’s CEO, Mr McMillan outlined the shocking standard of cleanliness on the old C314 carriages, the delay in obtaining the new trains, and pushed for Inverclyde to get the newer trains back full-time.

Commenting, Mr McMillan said:

“Further to raising the idea with Transport Minister Humza Yousaf MSP, I requested a discount for passengers travelling on the old C314 trains as a fair and realistic outcome to the situation. I am however still urging for the newer trains be returned to the line as soon as possible.

“I also raised the prospect of a half-hourly Wemyss Bay service – something which I’ve already discussed with ScotRail’s Head of Business Development, Scott Prentice, who I met with following my Hill Farm bus survey as a number of respondents wanted a more regular train service and later last train.

“I also proposed a shuttle service between Wemyss Bay and Port Glasgow to increase connectivity in the meantime, as significant investment would be required prior to introducing two trains per hour on the line. I will continue to push for Inverclyde to be included in the strategic corridor reviews as improved public transport connectivity is critical to support regeneration of the area.

“Looking ahead to summer, I also asked what resources ScotRail will contribute towards the joint efforts to dealing with the regular Inverkip beach problems.

“The local train services are issues I have been working on for some time and I look forward to progress being made on at least some of them in the future.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.